Audience-votes and awards

Audience-votes and awards are an important part of DocPoint. They are the handed by to professionals who have distinguished themselves in the field of documentary film making. Every year the festival hands an Aho & Soldan Award or an Apollo Award. From 2014 on, the audience has had a change to vote for their favourite from the New Finnish Documentary Films series. From 2015 onwards we have also organized a vote together with Finnish National Broadcasting Company, Yle. The winner-film is shown in television after the festival.

Film-goer favourite: Pick your choice from DocPoint’s New Finnish Films programme!

The film-goers gets once again to pick their favorite out of the films in the DocPoint New Finnish Films programme. During the festival week, the audience gets to cast their vote at selected screenings of films in the Finnish Films section. In 2014, the filmgoer favorite winner was Tonislav Hristov’s hilarious comedy Love & Engineering. In 2015 the audience picked Leaving Africa, by Iiris Härmä and in 2016 the audience picked Sparrooabban by Suvi West.

From You to Yle: Vote a film to television!

Why leave the documentaries to the cinema, when Yle brings them for the whole nation to see? Did you note a documentary in our programme that your cousin somewhere in Northern Finland should absolutely see? From You to Yle is an audience competition, where You as the viewer get to vote for your favorite nominee, and make a difference to which DocPoint film Yle will screen on one of their national channels during the Spring 2017.

Films in the competition:


Critic’s Choice

Critic’s Choices are picked by a film critic. The Critic for the festival 2017 will be announced later.

Aho & Soldan Award:

The Aho & Soldan Lifetime Achievement Award has been granted since the first DocPoint festival in 2002. The criteria for receiving the award are significant efforts in developing creative Finnish documentary film making, as well as a long and outstanding career as a documentary film director.

Aho & Soldan Awards:

2014: Kanerva Cederström
2011: Pekka Lehto
2010: Kiti Luostarinen
2005: Peter von Bagh
2004: Pirjo Honkasalo
2003: Lasse Naukkarinen
2002: Markku Lehmuskallio

Apollo Award:

The Apollo Award is given out to an individual or organisation that has significantly promoted Finnish documentary film and has distinguished themselves in the field of documentary film making. The award is named after Ateljee Apollo, the first notable documentary film production company in Finland, founded in 1904. The award was established in 2006, in honour of the festival’s 5th annniversary, and it is handed out in alternation with the Aho & Soldan Lifetime Achievement Award.

Apollo Awards:

2016: Illume Oy (production company)
2015: Reijo Nikkilä
2013: Tuula Mehtonen
2012: Iikka Vehkalahti
2009: Epidem Oy (production company)
2008: Jörn Donner
2007: Ilkka Kippola
2006: Jarmo Jääskeläinen